Across the Universe by Beth Revis

“This ship is built on secrets; it runs on secrets”, he says, tiny droplets of spittle flying from his mouth to my face. “And if you keep asking about them, you’ll see how far I’m willing to go to keep mine.”

Across the Universe (Across the Universe, #1)

Rating: 3.5 stars

Across the Universe is written in alternating point of views of the two main characters: Amy and Elder. Amy is a seventeen year old girl who was born on Earth. She follows her parents to be frozen in a capsule as a nonessential on Godspeed, a spaceship which will take her to a new planet 300 years in the future, when she is awaken 50 years to soon. Elder is the future leader of Godspeed and a child of the ship. With more people being unfrozen, Amy and Elder will have to work together to figure out who the culprit is while unlocking the mysteries of Godspeed hidden underneath all of the lies and deceit.

There were individual elements I enjoyed in Across the Universe and other elements in which I had problems with. 

The cons to this book came from the two main characters: Amy and Elder. Both of these characters were simply unlikable. They were flat and boring. Also, the bond between the two just didn’t feel real. It was more insta-love (more on Elder’s part) rather than actual love. But on the other hand, Beth Revis did a fine job in developing her secondary characters: Harley, Eldest, and Orion. All three of these characters were so well thought out and believable, that it was strange that she would create such bland main characters.

Also, the length of the book was little too long for my taste. While I understand the importance of world building, Revis did not have to talk about “the season” for a good 50+ pages.

Pros to this book had to be the suspense and mystery built up. Revis was skilled at keeping me on my toes the entire time and I won’t lie, I didn’t see the culprit coming from a decent distance. I just wish Revis focused more on the mystery aspect rather than the romance of the book. Or better yet, if she had just scrapped the entire romance and kept Elder and Amy as platonic friends I would’ve given this book 5 stars.

Nevertheless, I look forward to reading A Million Suns and reviewing it.

2 thoughts on “Across the Universe by Beth Revis

  1. Thomas says:

    I’ve had A Million Suns on my Kindle since last summer but I keep pushing it back… perhaps I’ll wait until reading your thoughts on it to see if I should read it. Great review Laura, love reading what you think of these books through WP!

Leave a Reply

