Frostbite by Richelle Mead

“There’s nothing worse than waiting and not knowing what’ll happen to you. Your own imagination can be crueler than any captor.” 

Frostbite (Vampire Academy, #2)Rating: 4 stars

Frostbite is the second book in the Vampire Academy series, so you might not want to read this review if you’ve not read the first book.

In Frostbite, Strigoi are on the move and are going after the royals. Moroi and guardians are being killed off in large groups and tensions are rising at St.Vladimir’s, leaving both Moroi and Dhampirs  in an uncomfortable situation where they will have to work together in order to defeat the Strigoi.

I will admit. I was a little skeptical going into this book. I didn’t like Rose’s character in the first book and from the start of the second book she still appeared to be a childish teenager who had to get her way. About 2/3 into the book though, Rose’s character grew and matured. She wasn’t as boy crazy and started to think about others before herself.My only complaint is the change from immaturity to adulthood felt rushed. It was almost as it she just had an a-ha moment and completely changed her outlook on things. Nevertheless, by the end of the book I did like her a lot more.

As for the plot, it was ok. I just didn’t like how there were a lot of other side plots going on. It made it hard to focus on one thing, which may have been the point of this book (so you never got bored).

I gave this book four stars though because I really did enjoy reading it. This series has become my guilty pleasure and I can’t wait to learn more about Rose’s dad and Adrian in the next book*swoon*. I would recommend this series to anyone who’s in need of a fast paced/action packed/romance type book.



Leave a Reply

