Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

“I’m thinking I would like to dance in the rain with this person. I would like to lie next to him in the dark and watch him breathe and watch him sleep and wonder what he’s dreaming about and not get an inferiority complex if the dreams aren’t about me.”

Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist

Rating: 2 stars

Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist starts off with a spontaneous kiss shared between Nick and Norah at a local music club, in order to avoid Nick’s ex-girlfriend. As a result, they share an adventure filled first date with uncertainty and confusion in New York City.

I really wanted to like Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist and I tried, I really did. It was all in vain though because there were key elements that just did not work for me in this book.

1. Cussing: There was so much cussing in this book. I swear (no pun intended) there was at least one cuss word on every single page. It was unnecessary and got quite cumbersome after the tenth “fuck”. This is one of my biggest pet peeves in books. I understand that teenagers cuss in real life, but a good book does not require excessive expletives to get its point across.

2. The plot was meh: It’s centered around one night of fun (not as interesting as I thought it was going to be). And with only 183 pages, I wasn’t able to get a feel for the setting or get attached to either Nick or Norah.

3. Insta-love: I blame myself for this one. I should have seen the signs and aborted mission.

Overall, I was unimpressed and disappointed with this book, but if you want to read something by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, I would recommend Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares, which is also written in dual point of views.

2 thoughts on “Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

  1. Thomas says:

    Aw, sorry you didn’t like this one that much Laura. 😦 I’ve read other reviews and many people share your sentiments. I guess I’ll skip out on it then… I wonder if the movie is any better.

Leave a Reply

