Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer

Edward got all hissy then. “I won’t let Bella be upset like that again. I don’t care how justified Leah thinks she is! I didn’t hurt her—of course I wouldn’t—but I’ll throw her out of the house if it happens again. I’ll launch her right across the river—” “Hold on. What did she say?” None of this was making any sense.

Breaking Dawn (Twilight, #4) Rating: 2 stars

Breaking Dawn is the last book in the Twilight saga, so you might not want to read this review if you’ve not read the previous books.

*review contains spoilers*

The quote I provided above gives you a glimpse of how ridiculous this book is. Really Edward? You would go to those extremes over something someone said to Bella? I assume this is supposed to be romantic. It’s baffling.Breaking Dawn left me angered, confused, and shocked. Stephanie Meyer needs to understand that the dilemmas she creates for her characters can’t be escaped so easily or tossed aside so casually. It ruins the structure of the book and makes it full of loopholes. I was expecting more from Stephanie Meyer in this last installment of the Twilight saga.

  1. An epic fight: Stephanie Meyer successfully builds up a lot of suspense for a spectacular show down, only to give me nothing. I’m not talking about a lackluster fight scene, but legitimately she gave me nothing and she did this TWICE!
  2. Inner turmoil: I wanted Bella to struggle more with the decision of becoming a vampire. She was giving up her friendship with Jacob, her own family, and the chance to have her own family. This was Meyer’s chance to add more depth to Bella’s character.
  3. Newborn thirst: Bella turns out to be immune to the thirst (or at least she can control it). There’s no ravenous Bella, no destruction, no killing,  nothing. It just becomes another detail Meyer over hypes and doesn’t make happen.
  4. Vampire sex: The sex wasn’t written in great detail thank god. It was sporadic and not done very well. Besides the honeymoon portion of the book, it held no purpose and didn’t add anything to the book.

I’m surprised so many people were satisfied with the ending. It was necessary that some one died, but nope. All is happy rainbow sprinkles in Forks. Overall, I was expecting more from this 700+ page book. It would’ve been just as bad good, if not better, if it was 400 pages shorter.

This isn’t to say Stephanie Meyer is a bad writer.  She’s actually quite skilled at writing an easy to follow and intriguing book. What bothers me is she isn’t using her talent to create a better plot line or deeper characters. There’s so much potential, but it’s hidden behind all the cliches she uses in her books.

I would recommend this book to people who like happy, unrealistic endings.

One thought on “Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer

Leave a Reply

