Delirium by Lauren Oliver

“It’s so strange how life works: You want something and you wait and wait and feel like it’s taking forever to come. Then it happens and it’s over and all you want to do is curl back up in that moment before things changed.” 

Delirium (Delirium, #1) Rating: 3.5 stars

Delirium takes place in a dystopian  society where love is seen as a disease that needs to be cured by an operation when a person turns 18. The main character, Lena, is almost 18 and is nervous but excited about her procedure… that is until she meets Alex. After reading about 100 pages of Delirium, I noticed some similarities between it and Matched by Ally Condie (a book I wasn’t too fond of) 

Similarities between Matched and Delirium

  1. The government chooses who you’ll be married to and your occupation.
  2. The main girl protagonist runs to escape her troubles. (This trend in the ya book world is starting to get on my nerves. Delirium, Matched, and Across the Universe)
  3. Regulators (Delirium) vs Officials (Matched) who walk around making sure no one is doing anything illegal

But despite of these similarities, I enjoyed Delirium a lot more than Matched. Lauren Oliver’s writing is lovely. She is able to successfully convey a character’s emotion with such precision that it feels like you’re there in that moment. Her writing style was the only reason why I continued to read this book. Plot wise, I was unimpressed for  the first 100 pages and it wasn’t until the last 100 pages that I was really entranced by this book.

As for the characters, Lena was the stereotypical ya girl protagonist in love. There wasn’t anything special or unique about her, but I suppose that was part of her appeal. On the other hand, I really liked Alex. He was the perfect strong male protagonist with cute quirks that made him both endearing and likable.  

Lastly, I really liked how she added “quotations” from the society’s documents, poems, and rules and regulations at the beginning of every chapter. It added to the world building and a little something extra that wasn’t necessary, but a nice addition to the book.

I would recommend this book to people who liked Matched by Ally Condie and are ok with reading a slow paced beginning for an awesome ending.

6 thoughts on “Delirium by Lauren Oliver

  1. quix689 says:

    I started reading this book last year, shortly after reading Matched. I, too, noticed the similarities, which is part of why I stopped reading this book. It just wasn’t holding my interest, and it seemed like I already knew the story. Maybe I’ll give it another chance some day. I loved Oliver’s Before I Fall, so I really wanted to love this series, as well. Maybe now that I haven’t just finished reading Matched I’ll be able to appreciate this more.

    • Laurarue says:

      Thanks for commenting! I’m the type of person who has to read the entire book even if it’s not very good. It’s a shame because there are so many better books to read. Have you finished the Matched trilogy? I have not and I don’t think I will. :/

      • quix689 says:

        I usually have to finish books, but I had just spent like three weeks forcing myself to finish a different book, and I just couldn’t do that again.

        I haven’t finished the Matched trilogy, and I don’t think I will, either. I originally thought that maybe I would, but I find myself just not caring about it at all.

  2. Lauren Oliver says:

    As she starts to question the intentions of her culture and also family, Lena uncovers deeply concealed tricks which will lead both her and Alex to come up
    with an unsafe as well as risky prepare for getaway.

Leave a Reply

