Blood Promise by Richelle Mead

“If your eyes weren’t open, you wouldn’t know the difference between dreaming and waking.”

Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, #4)

Rating: 5 stars

Blood Promise is the fourth book in the Vampire Academy series, so you might not want to read this review if you’ve not read the previous books… seriously, don’t read this review unless you’ve read Shadow Kiss.

Blood Promise  is by far my favorite book in the Vampire Academy series so far. New characters are introduced along with a new setting. REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Before I start, I must warn you that half of this review might be incomprehensible because of how much I liked this book. That being said, go ahead and read.

Blood Promise was everything I could’ve asked for after reading Shadow Kiss. HOLY COW! Coming back from the ultimate cliffhanger, Richelle Mead does not disappoint. Mead picks right where she left off from Shadow Kiss with Rose leaving for Russia to kill Strigoi Dimitri, (still crying from that cave scene) with the help of Adrian’s money. She encounters new people such as Abe, a mysterious mob-like boss to the Moroi called the zmey (snake) in Russia and Sydney, the stoic and responsible roman architecture loving alchemist, who helps Rose along her journey to find Strigoi Dimitri.

Mead paints a surreal image of Rose’s new environment: Russia. And as a result, I now have a sudden urge to go visit Russia and find my own Dimitri ha just kidding. Adrian is the only one for me. Nevertheless, the change in setting was refreshing and executed very well.

With every Richelle Mead book I’ve read, it’s become apparent that she spends a considerable amount of time planning out her books/series. She know exactly where she’s going which each book, and that’s no different with Blood Promise.  For example, “Roza.” His voice had that same wonderful lowness, the same accent . . . it was all just colder. “You forgot my first lesson: Don’t hesitate.”  Mead references Dimitri’s first lesson to Rose from Vampire Academy. It’s a small detail, but shows Mead has really planned this series out to the smallest detail before even publishing her first book. Everything Mead puts in her books has a purpose. There are never any stray, unimportant characters that come and go throughout the series or sub-plots that never get explained and I respect and love that about her writing. And even with the handful of characters she creates, Mead is able to fully develop each and every one of them to have their own quirks and vices.

The only fault I can find in her writing, and I’m not even sure if everyone would see this as one, is Mead often writes two different plotlines at a time considering she also writes Lissa’s point-of-view from Rose’s perspective. And usually, these two plotlines are equally as strong as one another so it’s hard to focus on one conflict for too long. Fortunately, Mead is skilled enough to do this so it’s never a huge problem.

She makes up for it by writing AMAZING fight scenes. The last fight scene with Strigoi Dimitri had me on the edge of my seat. It’s one of the best fight scenes I’ve ever read in my life. And I  love the last words Rose spoke before driving that stake through Dimitri’s heart.

I looked him in the eye.”I will always love you.” Then I plunged the stake into his chest. It wasn’t as precise a blow as I would have liked, not with the skilled way he was dodging. I struggled to get the stake in deep enough to his heart, unsure if I could do it from this angle. Then, his struggles stopped. His eyes stared at me, stunned, and his lips parted, almost into a smile, albeit a grisly and pained one. “That’s what I was supposed to say. . .” he gasped out. Those were his last words.

I get chills every time I read this quote.

Overall, I can’t say this enough. I LOVED this book and I can’t wait to see what Richelle Mead has in store for me in Spirit Bound. I would recommend this series to anyone who wants to read good vampire books with lots of action and suspense.

 

One thought on “Blood Promise by Richelle Mead

Leave a Reply

