Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

“What is in our hearts is real whether we name it or let it exist only in darkness or silence.” 

Rating: 2.5 stars (I originally wanted to give this book 2 stars, but the extra .5 is for creating such an original setting).

10345937

Shades of Earth is the third and last book in the Across the Universe trilogy, so you might not want to read this review if you’ve not read the previous books.

Oh Revis, you took me on a journey in this final installment of the Across the Universe trilogy. It was a journey I was looking forward to after reading Across the Universe and A Million Suns. I packed only the bare necessities and even left behind all of the problems I had in the past books, but Shades of Earth,  just like the cover change, disappointed me. SPOILERS AHEAD

I had problems with this book from the very beginning. Amy and Elder finally land on Centauri-Earth with 1,000+ other shipborns and 500 ish frozens. After crash landing into the planet some of the shipborns are injured. It’s common sense for Amy to help Elder bandage the injured, but all she can only think about is unfreezing her parents. Amy is seventeen years old. She is the same age as I am. It’s only been three months since she’s been consciously away from her parents, yet she’s acting like a five year old who needs her daddy. It surprises me that  Revis chose to make Amy so dependent of her parents. It surprises me even MORE that some people consider Amy a badass female protagonist. There are so many things wrong with that. As for Elder, he doesn’t grow at all in this book. He continues to be “in love” with Amy, a terrible leader, and a jealous teenage boy… yay.

Moving on, the plot was blah. I see where Revis was trying to go with the moral of the story being humans are the real monsters, but it wasn’t executed very well. I guessed that the aliens were really humans from the very beginning and that Chris was the traitor. UGH CHRIS.. I’ll get to him later. The pacing was also WAY too fast. Things only happened to make the plot move along faster. It was choppy and unrealistic. I kept thinking to myself, “Oh that’s convenient. Amy just HAPPENED to figure out a way to kill the aliens in under a minute. Elder’s wi-com just HAPPENED to be able to work just then. No one HAPPENED to ask more questions about Chris.”

The thing that irked me the most though was the love triangle between Amy, Elder, and Chris. I’ve never liked the romance in any of Revis’s books. It’s just not my cup of tea, but this was the straw that broke the camel’s back. You can’t just bring in another love interest in the last book. There was so much insta-love and unnecessary drama. UGH Lastly, that “sex scene” between Amy and Elder was just awful. The timing, mood, and setting were all so wrong.

Overall, I was let down by Shades of Earth by Beth Revis. This book had a lot of potential, but it just fell through in the end.

One thought on “Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

Leave a Reply

