Homecoming without a date

I’d be the first one to admit that being asked to a dance would be lovely. Of course I wouldn’t know because I’ve never been asked to one, but I imagine it to be flattering in the least. Nonetheless, is it better to be asked and to go to Homecoming with a guy a girl doesn’t like than for her to go to Homecoming alone? Is it that shameful for a girl to go to Homecoming alone when a couple of her friends have dates or worse ask a guy she actually likes to go with her to Homecoming ? *insert gasps of blasphemy* Honestly, I think it would be really cute if a girl asked a guy to Homecoming/prom in an extravagant way like a guy usually would with a giant sign and chocolates instead of flowers, but that’s another topic for another day, possibly closer to prom. 

I’m curious because a lot of people at my school have been pairing off for Homecoming as if it were Noah’s arc. Some couples make sense, but others seem random or just created for the sake of having a date for Homecoming. It’s come to the point where some girls are now uncomfortable with going with their date. Ah, but who care’s about comfort as long as a girl has a guy to pose with in pictures to show she’s a wanted woman?

Today, one of my friends even told me she doesn’t want to go to Homecoming because she doesn’t have a date. She thinks she’ll be left out at the dance, which implies she doesn’t trust her friends with dates to include her in Homecoming rituals.  I find this unnerving. And although I did feel excluded when she had a date to Homecoming last year, I don’t believe my friends who have dates this year will exclude me. And even if they do, just like last year, I won’t let them stop me from having a good time because I determine whether or not I’ll have a good time, no one else.

It’s the 21st century ladies. And it’s time we start acting like it.

20131020-004404.jpg

I’d like to say I’ve been super studious in doing my college apps and stuff, but I haven’t. I recently went apple picking with my girl scout troop.

4 thoughts on “Homecoming without a date

  1. justanember says:

    I absolutely agree! It was incredibly awkward listening to girls in my lit class last year mapping out who would go with who to prom.
    LITERALLY, mapping it out. They had pen and paper and were trying to coordinate which guy should ask which girl, and it was a total set up and it was awkward to watch at prom because the girls stood in one group and the guys in the other and the only thing that mattered was that a guy and a girl were wearing coordinated colors for the pictures.
    But anyways, I was the one who asked my boyfriend out. People always look at him and say “How did you ask her out?? (: <3" and I tell you NEVER ONCE has anyone even assumed that I was the one to ask him out.
    I pray for the day this age old assumption that girls must wait patiently for a gentleman caller to rescue them from some awkward loneliness in a sea of couples goes to rest.

  2. Laurarue says:

    I often associate feminists with people who see women as victims of inequality. And while I’m all for women being treated as equals, I don’t consider myself or women for that matter as victims of such harsh injustice. Therefore, I don’t classify myself as a feminist.

  3. justanember says:

    I absolutely agree! It was awkward last year watching girls map out who would go with who to prom. LITERALLY, mapping out. In my AP Lit class these girls were trying to sort out which guy would go with which girl. At the actual prom people just hung out with their friends anyways, what mattered was that every girl wore a dress that matched the color of some boy’s blazer.
    Anyways, I was the one who asked my boyfriend out. People always look at him when we’re together and ask “How did you ask her out?? (: <3" and I tell you NEVER ONCE has anyone assumed that I was the one to ask him out.
    I pray for the day that this age-old assumption that girls must wait patiently for a gentleman caller to define them goes to rest.

Leave a Reply

