20 Days Until Move In Day

A couple of months ago, I opened my fifth grade time capsule. I had a pretty good idea of what I had put in it, so you could imagine my surprise when I found this letter.

blog

Yes, that is a drawing of a UVA cheerleader.

I did it. I accomplished my 8 year long dream and will be attending the University of Virginia in the fall of 2014! The weight of my realization hit me hard and I started to tear up, right in front of my old fifth grade classmates. It was a moment of self-indulgence and looking back I could not have prevented myself from crying. Everything that was building up inside of me for the past eight years just came rushing out.

For eight years, I worked towards this dream. For eight years, I sacrificed sleep and social outings for academics. For eight years, I have asked for acceptance into this university via 11:11 wishes and tunnel wishes. Call me lame, but that’s how long I yearned for this dream to become a reality. And now that it’s here, I feel empty. It’s like I need a new goal to fill this gnawing feeling in the pit of my stomach. Where do I see myself eight years from now? Still in school? Employed? Married? In a relationship? Single? I’ll be 25, halfway through the best decade of my life, or so they say.

At the moment though, I could not be more excited for move in day. I got all of the classes I wanted (thank you school of nursing) and I am proud to say that I don’t have any 8 am classes. Yay! But even with a killer schedule and a wonderful support group, I know college life will challenge me: academically, spiritually, and socially.  I have so much growing up to do and it scares me. I don’t want to lose my identity (as annoying as it can be sometimes). I don’t want to become someone I’m not or change my morals just to please other people (or even one person). I will continue to struggle with this, I’m sure, but hopefully I’ll be able to capture my growth through these blog posts.

Enough of college though. To recap my second semester of senior year…

photo-2

I went to San Francisco with my choir.

photo

I attended prom with my best friends and our respective dates, who aren’t pictured because boys are gross. c:

photo-4

And last but not least, I graduated from high school.

I wish I could say high school passed by in a blink of an eye, but it didn’t. I felt every anxiety filled day of high school, but that doesn’t mean there weren’t times when I loved coming to school. Although few and far in between, I am thankful for those days and welcome many more of those days to come, in college.

P.S. If anyone was wondering, I was also accepted into James Madison University and George Washington University.

5 thoughts on “20 Days Until Move In Day

  1. Jillian says:

    Laura! Welcome to the amazing community of UVa! I know you will love it here and I wish you the best in all your classes. Maybe we will run into each other at O’Hill or Newcomb or even Runk and discuss something completely random. I would love to get to know you better. I’m in the college so I doubt we’ll have any of the same classes but hey, we might. Have a good night and GO HOOS!

  2. Thomas says:

    As I’ve said many times I’m so so excited for you Laura, and I can’t wait to see where UVA takes you – not just toward your career but toward becoming a better you. You’re right that there will be a lot of challenges, but all of those challenges will result in invaluable growth. Congrats on avoiding 8 am classes this upcoming fall, graduating high school, and most importantly, not portraying any boys in your prom picture. (:

    Also, don’t feel too stressed to find a new life goal yet: nursing and self-discovery are two fantastic ones for now. I remember when I graduated it felt like there was a void as well… college will definitely fill it, though.

Leave a Reply

