Seattle (July 4-11)

July 4-11, 2017 I was in Seattle visiting my friend from high school. I visited her in Boston last summer, so it was like part 2 of adventures with Anya. It was so much fun! I’ve always wanted to visit Seattle ever since I was in high school and dreamed of going to the University of Washington for grad school. 

DAY 1

I caught my flight out of Dulles with only my backpack at 4pm so I could land in time to see the fireworks in Seattle. It was a 5 hour flight and I sat in between a stereotypical frat boy and middle aged woman. Our conversations were nonexistent, as you could imagine. After my plane landed, I took the LINK and 10 bus to Michael’s house (Anya’s friend) for fireworks. I had never met Michael before this. He was super kind when I arrived though and introduced me to everyone. Afterwards, we walked to Harvard street and saw the fireworks from an amazing view of all of Seattle. The sunset was also beautiful! I grabbed the sleeping bag I was going to use from Michael’s house and took a LYFT back home with Anya.

 Main takeaways

  • Stick driving is really cool and low-key super attractive
  • Got super frazzled at the cash register when he asked for my ID because he thought my ginger beer was alcoholic (it was not)
  • The sun sets at 10pm during the summer in Seattle and it’s so beautiful.

Day 2

Anya went to work early in the morning and I had a late start. My body was still fighting jet lag from coming back from Thailand and now from going from the East coast to the West coast. I ate costco blueberry muffin, got dressed, and walked to Trader Joes. I sat on the UW quad/Denny Yard and just took it all in. The campus was just as beautiful as I imagined it would be. Anya and I made green curry chicken and salad for dinner.

Main takeaways

  • Carrying groceries for 1.5 miles in quite the workout.
  • Picnics are peaceful and life-giving.
  • After eating only Thai food for the past month, I still wanted more in the States.

Day 3

I took the bus to Chihuly’s glass museum and was amazed by how stunning/breathtaking/beautiful the glass pieces were. Picture do not do them justice. I also loved learning about the process of blowing glass. It is hard both physically and mentally to create something this amazing. His paintings were wonderful as well. Fun fact: He was also a full bright scholar. After, I walked through the Olympic sculpture garden, which had a beautiful view of the Elliot Bay. There were so many runners. I then walked up o.4miles of straight hills to get to Kerry Park. It had a great view of the city skyline at the top of it and you could see the space needle as well as the mountains and water. I grabbed a vegan Hummus panini from Bang Bang cafe for lunch. It was delicious, but way overpriced.

Main takeaways

  • Saw a man take out a switchblade and cut a wheet grass for his baby to play with in a stroller. Ugh so cute!
  • Seattle needs to update its public transportation. The bus took an hour to commute 3 miles. It’s so inconvenient and wish they would hurry up and build a subway system

Day 4

I slept in and watched the Handmaid’s tale until Anya came back from work because we had planned to explore later that night. We saw the Fremont troll, ate delicious pie (I got the peppered steak pie as well as the blueberry apple pie), and watched the sunset at Gas Works. Anya’s apartment mate Carly also came and her other friends Josh and Nate met up with us at Gas Works. We went back to the guys place afterwards and I met Oliver and Anthony, who was with a girl. Awko situation.

Main takeaways

  • I love pie. A good pie makes everything better.
  • Falling deeper in love with Seattle.
  • The Handmaid’s tale is scary, but addicting to watch. I have mixed feelings about it.

Day 5

Anya and I grabbled belgium waffles from Sweet Iron before going to the Seattle Art Museum to see the Yayoi Kusama Infinity Rooms exhibit. It was absolutely incredible! It was in the DC area (where I’m from), but I didn’t get a chance to see it then. I was so happy I could see it in this new city. Afterwards, we went to Pike place market, the gum wall, and the water front. Josh, Nate, and Anthony met up with us at the pier for dinner. Then we went back to the boys apartment and watched Guardians of the Galaxy along with weird youtube videos. I also got their shy roommate to watch the movie with us!!

Main takeaways

  • Belgium waffles make everything better especially when they have goat cheese and honey on them.
  • Mac and Cheese with steak is surprisingly delicious!
  • Gum wall is underwhelming and low-key really gross.
  • The highlight was watching Anya’s friends react to Don’t Hug me I’m Scared and Too many cooks. AND our waiter had the most beautiful eyes… “His eyes are like a lighter brown. It’s like balayage in his eyes”

Day 6

Anya and I walked around the local Arboretum and Japanese garden. It was a chill day of just walking around, sitting, and talking about religion/Christianity. We got to finish it off with SUPER yummy Korean/Hawaiian fusion tacos and sliders at Marination Station and ginger turmeric VEGAN icecream. YUM!

Main takeaways

  • Days like these are special and I’m thankful for the opportunity to have real talks with Anya.
  • I wish there was another way, but I have come to terms that there is only one way. I pray that none shall perish.

Day 7
I finished the Handmaid’s tale and did code academy for most of the day. Coding is fun, but difficult. For dinner, I got Blue C Sushi with Maddie a friend from Thailand. Later that night, I continued to talk about how cute Anya’s friends are and how thankful I am that we have such different types in men.

Main takeaways

  • Talking to Maddie made me miss Thailand even more.

Day 8

This was my last day in Seattle and I visited Seattle Children’s Hospital. It was huge and beautiful. I could see myself working here one day. Anya and I ordered Din Tai Fung for dinner and it was so so good. We got Pork and Shu Mai soup dumplings with a side of Bok Choi. I had packed all my things beforehand and gave Anya her thank you card that I got from Trader Joes. She walked me to the Link Station, a mile a way, and sent me off to the airport. Until next time. While on the train, my core group girls Katie, Maddie and Faith facetimed me and it was wonderful. I love these girls and thank God for the blessing they are in my life.

Main takeaways

  • Thankful that God has blessed me with so many wonderful friends in my life. Thankful for my friendship with Anya and that it has evolved over the years. Thankful that I serve a God who love me despite inadequacies.

Seattle was wonderful and I look forward to coming back to this beautiful city. My heart had yearned to be there for so long and visiting only increased my love for this place. Until next time.

Leave a Reply

