Moe’s BBQ, White Spot, Milli Coffee Roasters, Egg Nog Milkshake at Cookout, Riverside Lunch

There are some amazing food places in Charlottesville and I want to experience as much of it as possible in my last year here!

Moe’s BBQ: I went here with one of the girls in my core group and we split a pork platter with mashed potatoes, pickled slaw, corn bread, and banana bread pudding. The cook gave us the last serving of mash potatoes for free, so that was super exciting. It had a rustic wooden lodge kind of feel inside with a bunch of TVs surrounding the tables so you could watch the latest hockey game. The food was super good, but a little salty for my taste. I don’t really add salt into my food though, so it’ll probably be fine for normal people. The banana bread pudding was for sure my favorite.

White Spot: I last minute went to the nursing date function at Boylen and it was surprisingly a lot of fun. I got to dance with my fellow fourth years and since nursing is almost all girls it just felt like a girls night out. We went to White Spot afterwards and I got a Gus burger because that’s one of the 118 things to do before I graduate. It was pretty tasty, but it was also kinda late at night so take that into consideration.

Milli Coffee: This is probably my favorite coffee shop so far in Charlottesville. It has a great atmosphere and they always draw a cute little figure into my lattes. I’ve dried their latte, hot chocolate and drip coffee. I would recommend the first two over their drip coffee.

Cookout: I FINALLY got my hands on the specialty item that is only sold in December… Cookout’s egg nog milkshake. One of my housemates kindly got it for me when I was finishing up my 8 page paper on Sufism. That was quite the night. I must’ve slept in everyone else’s bed except my own. It tasted good, but I was underwhelmed by the subtle eggnog taste. If you’re a fan of cookout though you have to get it along with their summer watermelon flavor!

Riverside Lunch: This place is truly a hidden treasure. It has your classic diner food and the vibe to match it. Not a lot of college students know about it, so it is a legit townie place to go. They even had carrot cake! I went with my core group family before semiformal and it was a hit.

Leave a comment